The Wanna Be Health Nut

Living life one day at a time in a healthy way

Early morning Run July 7, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — tiffers81 @ 1:02 pm

I wasn’t sure if I was going to run this morning after yesterday’s disappointing one, but I headed out of the door at 6 am anyway. I ended up doing a 3 mile tempo run with a 1/2 mile warm-up beforehand and cooldown afterward. I finished the 3 miles in 32:09 10:43/mile, which I was happy about. When I first started I was running/jogging at almost a 12 minute pace, but as I continue running, I have noticed that I get a little faster bit by bit. I plan to start blogging my foods today to serve as my own personal food log. I try to eat as healthy as a I can, but sometimes it is hard to break my Texas roots of meat and potatoes all of the time. As you will see, I am not that big of a fruit eater, I try to eat at least one serving of day and fill the rest of the fruit & veggie req’s with vegetable servings.This is my typical breakfast, especially on running days. 1/2 cup oats, 1 Tbs. pb, and a tiny handful of chocolate chips (tastes like a peanut butter cup!). Homemade latte consists of 4 shots of espresso and 1.25 cups of skim milk. I had this after my run. I don’t typically eat before early morning runs because my stomach gets upset if I eat right beforehand, but wonder if I am doing myself a diservice by not eating beforehand.

What fuels you before early morning runs?

The rest of my day consisted of a tabbouleh-style quinoa salad over spring mix

 

and this was my snack a few hours afterward.  I have tried many “bars” as snacks from Balance to Larabar(which I do love!!) and have found that this particular one stays with me, it has a good amount of fiber at 7g and protein at 11g, so I think that is why it is so satieting, not to mention it tastes like a candy bar.

For dinner, I has sesame-stuffed mushrooms for my husband, but my stomach was feeling a bit off. A few hours later though, I rummaged through the fridge and had some leftover shrimp boil which I made on Monday consisting of 7 shrimp, a part of a link of turkey sausage, and a small red potato.I am not a fan of corn, so I left that for my husband.

 

Leave a Reply

